Image

Have you ever sensed that a single word or action would make the difference between a person living in bliss or a curse for eternity? Of course your single action wouldn’t be the whole of it but that sometimes it does matter. I have failed so much. At the same time i can say my right actions and word influenced by God’s Spirit has done good. But for some reason the ones that fail… Well,… Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it, as the 18th century Hymn writer wrote in Come Thou Fount.

When we reject speaking a good word or doing an act of forgiveness…. What are we rejecting? When we give up on those who have gone past the level of sin we know or have known by experience, what do we do? When are we to discern between being righteous and self righteous? How do we become like Stephen who prayed, “Lord, lay not this sin to their charge,” as they were stoning him to death.

Does our prayer or word make a difference? I believe it does and that is what is most troubling for me. God has laid that heavy responsibility upon me and I am such a failure. Yes, I know all about predestination and God’s calling. But something that is lacking in much of Christianity is that we become so heavenly minded that we become negligent of what heavenly good we were meant to be. And that despite ourselves.

Heb 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.

Lord help our unbelieving hearts as the father in Mark Chapter 9 prayed.
Mar 9:23 Jesus said unto him, If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth.
Mar 9:24 And straightway the father of the child cried out, and said with tears, Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief.

A single act?

