Smoking marijuana is good? Really?

Can you believe that we are debating if marijuana use is good and beneficial for Society? I am deeply troubled this stuff  is being legalized in the States. I have had to study this subject more in depth lately due to people around me claiming it is beneficial and good for society.  I use to smoke it frequently as a teenager and have used it as an adult but I never thought it was good or safe.  I just liked being stoned.  After all temptation is temptation because of something that is enjoyable or pleasurable for a season.  But I don’t ever think I have tried to justify it as something good.  I honestly believe that it is very dangerous the more I study the situation.

I am not one to get into peoples faces and tell them off for getting high.  I have a lot of friends who smoke marijuana and they are mostly great people whom I love and cherish.  But at the same time I don’t want to blur the lines of what is correct or what is wrong because I like something or someone who participates in that wrong.  I have lust in my heart for women but I am not going to say that looking at a woman and undressing her with my mind is okay when God says it is wrong.  I don’t want to redefine adultery because I have had lustful thoughts.  That would be turning Gods truth into a lie.  And we all know God is not a liar.  (Numbers 23:19 and Hebrews 6:18)  There have been times I have drank too much alcohol but I don’t want to say that drunkenness is okay.  I need to have a recognizable place to get back to when I have done wrong.  If I start to justify wrong doing and calling what is bad good I will have no place to recognize as home or a place of truth to rest  my head.  I don’t want to justify my wrong doing if God says it is wrong.  If I do I will end up hardening my heart against God’s standard and I will not recognize it any longer.  If we can’t recognize truth and discern what is right and wrong  we will be left with no place recognizable to return to.  Recognition of  sin will be a thing of the past and by calling bad behavior good we will be calling God a liar and will end up cursing God in our hearts.  That is a bad place to be.

I also don’t want to lead others into a place that will cause them to stumble.  I am sure I have caused others to stumble.  I am grateful for truth and God’s word to help me recognize bad behavior so that I can recover and be reconciled to man and God.  BTW, there is a curse for everyone who causes others to stumble.  Remember that Jesus noted it would be better for a stone to be tied around someone’s neck and cast into the sea  instead. (Mark 9:42).  We need to be careful about endorsing something that shouldn’t be endorsed and I believe marijuana is in that group of things that shouldn’t be endorsed.

Politically, this is where American democracy is failing. We can vote for the coffers to be filled with taxes and dispersed incorrectly.  We can also vote to say that people have a right to murder unborn children.  Now we are voting to legalize a known psychotropic drug that does not help us in sobriety or spirit.  We are a Nation in dire need of Repentance and Revival. America is losing what goodness God had placed in her. Our Nation and world needs to stand up and recognize this. The Government is responsible also. Verse two of the following passage expresses why. There is a reason that we are called to pray for all men, even those in authority.  It is so that we may lead quiet peaceable lives in godliness and honesty.  Voting to legalize immorality and endorse insobriety shouldn’t be an issue that is that hard to discern.  But our National soul is being lost.  We have gained the world but lost our soul.

(1Ti 2:1) I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men;

(1Ti 2:2) For kings, and for all that are in authority; that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and honesty.

(1Ti 2:3) For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Saviour;

(1Ti 2:4) Who will have all men to be saved, and to come unto the knowledge of the truth.

(1Ti 2:5) For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus;

The video I posted above is decent. I believe it is done by an atheistic but scientifically driven gentleman who does a lot of work discussing issues. It isn’t a politically driven video.  It is just a video looking at the effects of marijuana.  While I definitely disagree with him on his life view and emphasis I believe this video clip is very good in refuting the common arguments that marijuana is good or beneficial for us. You should read some of the non-sense that our teens are starting to believe….

http://www.ednewscolorado.org/2012/02/22/33516-research-shows-adverse-effects-of-marijuana-on-teens-as-drug-use-among-students-appears-to-be-rising

Quotes like this….

“I smoke marijuana every single day all day long,” the teen said during a lunch period spent hanging out in a park outside his downtown Colorado Springs high school. “It develops brain cells. That is a complete and true fact,” he said. “It kills weak brain cells. It does affect your lungs … but it’s better than smoking cigarettes.”

Dozens of students interviewed across Colorado as part of an investigation by Education News Colorado, Solutions and the I-News Network made similar statements: Marijuana is healthy. It helps me focus in class. And, hey, it’s better than alcohol or cigarettes.

“It’s less damaging to smoke weed,” said a 15-year-old girl getting high over lunch near her Denver high school. “I’m not trying to mess with my body.”

This is an issue the Church and the State are going to have to deal with under God’s rule.  We had better get up to par on this issue as well as others if we desire to enjoy the blessings we have enjoyed in the past.  One of those blessings is our freedom.  We will lose them if we don’t.  We can’t expect the blessings of goodness and  mercy if we neglect the foundation from where they come from.  If we don’t consider our ways and repent we will reap what we sow.  We will reap what we sow.  Let me repeat that again, we will reap what we sow.

Galatians 6:7 Be not deceived for whatsoever a man sows that shall he also reap.

Pro 14:34 Righteousness exalteth a nation: but sin is a reproach to any people.

2 Chronicles 7:14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

We need a healing.  Sin is killing our Nation.

